Sunday, 21 August 2011

Old Testament law codes and Israelite society

Scholars speak of four extended law codes in the Hebrew Bible (Old Testament):

• The Covenant Code - Exodus 20-23
• The Holiness Code - Leviticus 17-26
• The Deuteronomic Code - Deuteronomy 12-16
• The Priestly Code - various parts of Leviticus and the rest of the Torah

In this post, I want to summarise what these codes tell us about early Israelite society.